Document Actions

You are here: Home Counseling Exchange Programs and … ERASMUS



Erasmus+ programme 2021-2027

Erasmus+ is the European Union’s (EU) funding programme for general education and vocational training, youth and sport. The EU has been promoting cross-border mobility and exchange between European universities since 1987. With the integration of several EU funding programmes, the name changed from "Erasmus" to "Erasmus+" starting with the 2014-2021 generation of programmes. The overall aim of the programme is to support the educational, professional and personal development of people in Europe and beyond through lifelong learning. The programme is thus an important instrument for the creation of a European education area. The EU has extended Erasmus+ until 2027 and increased the budget for this period to €26.2 billion. The new generation of programmes retains familiar funding lines, while adding several programme innovations as well as further funding opportunities. The focus is on inclusion and diversity, the green and digital transitions, and democratic participation.

Erasmus+ at the University of Freiburg

Erasmus+ comprises the following Key Actions. The University of Freiburg’s International Office implements Key Action 1 within the framework of Erasmus+:


Around 50 academic subjects at the University of Freiburg are involved in Erasmus+. The departments have concluded cooperation agreements with more than 300 European partner universities in over 30 countries and offer students more than 1,500 spots to study abroad. All departments involved in the Erasmus+ programme at the University of Freiburg have appointed Erasmus departmental coordinators who are responsible for selecting and supporting Erasmus+ students.

Inter-institutional agreements between the University of Freiburg and its European partner universities form the basis for Erasmus+ study stays as well as for Erasmus+ mobility grants for students. At department level, the agreements determine the number of exchange students, the length of stay and the requirements for standards of study and language.

Erasmus+ programme and partner countries

Erasmus+ programme countries (KA131)

The 27 member states of the European Union (EU): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

The countries of the European Economic Area: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

The EU's associated partners: North Macedonia, Serbia, Turkey

Erasmus+ worldwide partner countries (KA171)

In addition to the Erasmus+ programme countries, agreements have been concluded with several partner countries outside of Europe. Further information on Erasmus+ worldwide is available here.


erasmus charta portlet


Contacts and office hours

Erasmus+ office hours

The personal office hours for Erasmus students (Incomings and Outgoings) take place on the following dates in the Student Service Center, Sedanstraße 6, third floor, Room 02.024:

  • Monday, 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students, focus on funding/grant agreement
  • Tuesday 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students
  • Thursday: 9 – 12 a.m. for incoming and outgoing students
  • Thursday: 2 – 4 p.m. focus on outgoing students (Nov. 9, 2023, 2-4 p.m.: Office hours cancelled)


The personal office hours are open office hours. You do not need an appointment.

The virtual office hour takes place via Zoom every Wednesday between 11am and 12pm.

You can book a slot here:

You can contact us by email and phone:

Phone: +49 761/203 4207

Outgoing students of the University of Freiburg who have questions about funding/the grant agreement during the period Aug. 21-Sept. 1 should contact Luitgard Scheidler by phone or e-mail ( / Tel.: +49 761/203-4375).
Outgoing students of the University of Freiburg who have questions about the Learning Agreement or technical questions about Mobility-Online in the period Aug 28.-Sept. 1. should contact Julianne Hormann by phone or e-mail ( / Tel.: +49 761/203 9655).

Erasmus+ Team in the International Office

Erasmus+ Institutional Coordination

Daniel Weiß (Mr.)

Phone: +49 761/203 4269

Erasmus+ Institutional Coordination International Credit Mobility

Greta Matthis (Ms.)

Phone: +49 761/203-95189

Erasmus+ Incoming Exchange Coordination

Meike Müller-Heuss (Ms.)

Phone: +49 761/203-97566

Erasmus+ Financial Coordination

Luitgard Scheidler (Ms.)

Phone: +49 761/203-4375

Erasmus+ Data Management

Julianne Hormann (Ms.)

Phone: +49 761/203 9655

Erasmus+ Assistance

Maximilian Foitzik

Erasmus+ Inter-Institutional Agreements




This project is funded in cooperation with the European Commission. The responsibility for the content of this publication is born solely by the author; the Commission is not liable for the further use of the information contained herein.

Logo Co-Funded by the EU